Nursery Design

I had the best time creating and designing my daughter’s nursery while I anxiously awaited her arrival. I’ve received so many sweet comments and questions over the past several months, so I thought I would share a few of my thoughts and ideas.

First, you need to know that I didn’t have a lot of space to work with. This is a very small room, but I made it work, so don’t stress about space! There are only a few pieces you need to make your nursery functional; crib, dresser and rocker..that’s it! I mostly used my wall space to create the environment I envisioned.

Second, if you don’t want to do your nursery around a theme, you have a few options. You can  choose a color palette and design your bigger pieces around those colors. (check out Design Seed for inspiration). You can also choose an object, like a painting and pull ideas and colors from that. My first nursery piece was a painting I purchased from Hannah Crosby (check out her website/blog here). From there, I knew that I wanted to incorporate elephants/animals, gold and travel…random, right?!

The painting (aka my inspiration) is the center piece and the other prints along with the gold decals are from Etsy. Can we talk about this rug?! Rugs are simple, but create the perfect statement for your room. I knew that I wanted some kind of tribal print, but couldn’t find one that was reasonably priced. I even had my husband on the search, he ended up finding the winner at (DENYDESIGNS).

IMG_0007

Decorate around that pesky thermostat, but keep it crisp and simple. Both pieces from TJ Maxx.

IMG_0006

Books are important, so why not display them?! The floating shelves are from Ikea and only $14.99!

IMG_0012

Recently, I created a little space below the bookshelves. The dog loves this spot more than the baby, but at least someone is enjoying it. This little chair was my Grandpa’s, he stole it from his Sunday school class when he was a kid (dead serious). My dad fixed it up, painted it and it looks brand new. I love functional and sentimental.

IMG_0010

I was browsing the clearance section at Home Goods one day and found this. I carried it to the front of the store and every woman stopped me and asked if they could have it..not even kidding.

IMG_7732

Finding a comfortable chair is important because you’ll be rocking and nursing that sweet baby around the clock! I wanted a simple, neutral color because I figured I could easily find a place for it after it serves its purpose (BuyBuy Baby). The gold ottoman (Overstock) is a great statement, but also practical. I added the side table (Target) a few days post baby because I needed a place for my water, phone and nipple cream (gross, but necessary during that first week).

Side Note: the Keekaroo changing pad is probably my favorite baby item to date.

IMG_7739

ORGANIZATION IS KEY

Small rooms come with small closets, so I needed to get creative. I bought two bookcases from Ikea to place inside the closet, but only one fit…major bummer. However, this bookcase helps organize books, shoes and other accessories, so it’s still a win. Also, babies grow out of their clothes very quickly, so I started to store them in plastic bins and label them by size and they easily fit on the top shelf. I’m sure I’ll thank myself later for this.

IMG_0016

I keep the dresser drawers organized with drawer dividers from the Container Store. Easy access to lotion, hand sanitizer, pacifiers and toys are important while you’re changing those diapers, so I wanted to find some good storage that would be visual. My husband spotted these elephant organizers in Pottery Barn Kids one day, they are perfect because they hold everything you need and don’t take up a lot of space.

IMG_0009

IMG_0015

There you have it, my secrets to a simple and cute nursery.

2 thoughts on “Nursery Design

Leave a Reply

