Community

How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity! Psalm 133:1

IMG_2053

We were in Connecticut last week on a retreat with our new friends at Q (Luke’s new job). I feel so thankful my husband works for an organization who value family, community and a break from reality. It was the ultimate getaway, but the evening dinner was my favorite part of the day.

Everyone was responsible for providing one meal to prepare and share with the group, which is such a fun idea! We poured a glass of wine and enjoyed amazing food that was skillfully prepared. There’s something special about sharing a meal with others, it’s one of my favorite things. One night, we discussed displacement and a sense of belonging in our different stages of life. So many insightful thoughts were shared and it made me think about how vital community and meaningful relationships are for our hearts.

If we don’t surround ourselves with community, we become isolated. Isolation can lead to discontentment and emptiness. Every time I’ve fallen into this cycle, it’s lead to brokenness in my life. If you’re reading this and don’t have community, I would encourage you to be proactive and put yourself out there. Pray and ask God to lead you in that direction. I’m not super outgoing, so it’s always a step outside my comfort zone. I promise, it’s totally worth it.

If you have no idea where to start your community search, I would encourage you to look inside your church first. Joining a house church or small group with others who are in similar stages of life is a great place to start. You can also find a book club, mom’s group, or branch out and start your own!

I’ve learned that life is always better when you’re doing it with others.

Leave a Reply

